Ayr United Glasgow Cup Over 65s Winners – Walking Football 2018

Glasgow Sport held the inaugural Over 65s Walking Football Glasgow Cup

The Glasgow Cup Winners


On Wednesday 7th November Glasgow Sport held the inaugural Over 65s Walking Football Glasgow Cup supported by their partner Prostate Cancer Scotland.
The event was officially opened by Gary McLaughlin Chair of Walking Football Scotland who addressed the 16 teams and 150 players from all over the country. The tournament was divided into 4 sections of 4 with each team playing each other twice but only the section winners qualifying for the semi-finals.
Ayr United found themselves in a tough section along with Alloa, Midlothian and Kirkcaldy which provided some very close matches.
Ayr opened their account with a 1-1 draw against Alloa after conceding an early goal but followed this up with a 1-0 win over Kirkcaldy and a goalless draw with Midlothian.

Glasgow Cup prize table
At the half way stage Ayr, Midlothian and Alloa were all locked together on 5 points apiece although Midlothian held the advantage through a superior goal difference.
However, the Honest Men were to have a strong second set of fixtures and winning all three remaining games to top the group on 14 points.
A 2-1 win over Alloa after again going behind and solid 2-0 wins over both Kirkcaldy and Midlothian completing the job.
Would the semi-final draw be kind to the Somerset Parkers or would it throw up yet another ‘nail biter’ with ‘old foes’ Hearts of Midlothian? Ayr didn’t have long to find out the answer as the two were drawn together for a place in the final.

However, following a slow start to the morning’s proceedings Ayr had now grown into the tournament and were showing a confidence which was to serve them well.
Although a close match was to ensue Ayr were rarely troubled and took the lead half way through the game with a well taken goal from Tom Dowman.
As the match entered the final minute and Ayr on course for the final the referee adjudged that Ayr Captain John Crawford had marginally infringed by stepping into the penalty box whilst shepherding a pass back to keeper Billy Agnew. Despite the Ayr protests a penalty kick was awarded and Heart’s Captain Jimmy Bremner converted from the spot.
The whistle blew almost immediately and penalty kicks were on the menu.
Now if anyone had known the history of penalty kick shoot outs between Ayr United and Hearts they night have suggested Ayr were ‘huge underdogs’ for this one given the Honest Men had previously lost every shoot out against the men from the capital city.
However, a penalty save from keeper Billy Agnew and goals from David Reid, Gordon Ferrie, Tom Dowman and John Crawford saw the Honest Men safely through to the final.
The Glasgow Cup Final saw Ayr front up against the Gerihatricks who had defeated Glasgow Sport  in the other semi-final by a single goal.
The final was keenly contested but again similar to the semi-final Ayr were rarely troubled.Despite the Gerihatrick’s keeper pulling off several fine saves and two of note  from Ferrie and Crawford, the winning goal arrived from the boot of defender Billy Thomson to settle the outcome.
A very good final and commiserations should go to the Getihatricks who also performed so well on the day.
A massive thanks to organiser and co-ordinator Matt Ramsey and his staff of Glasgow Sport for an excellent tournament.


Matt Ramsay duly presented the Glasgow Walking Football Cup to captain John Crawford  and the victorious Ayr United Team to allow the celebrations to begin.

The Glasgow Cup

Congratulations should go to all the Ayr United players who produced a ‘real team effort’ on the day. No stars in this team but every player gave their all for each other.
For the record Ayr played 8 games in total, winning 6 and drawing 2, 10 goals were scored with only 3 conceded.
Just for the record goal scorers  were Tom Dowman 4, Chris Johnston 4, David Reid and Billy Thomson with penalty kicks in the shoot out netted by David Reid, Gordon Ferrie, Tom Dowman and John Crawford.

Ayr United Somerset Park :
Billy Agnew, Billy Thomson, Gordon Ferrie, Peter Ohler, David Reid, John Crawford, Tom Dowman, Harry Harvie and Chris Johnston.

Thanks should also go to Jason Butler and David Watson for their fine organisation and also to David Reid for transporting the team to and from Tory Glen.

Also a special word for Jim Kirk, John Clark, Ben Donnelly and  Campbell Frame who represented Ayr United  in an Ayr / Stenhousemuir Select Team on the day.